The Westminster Society is a registered charity no. 235400 founded in 1959 by John Betjeman and Gay Christiansen. HRH The Duke of Gloucester KG GCVO, an architect, is our Patron and The Very Reverend Dr John Hall, The Dean of Westminster, is our President.

An Executive Committee of up to 20 Trustees is elected from among the members in AGM for three year (renewable) terms. The Committee elects the officers. Although about half the Committee have valued professional qualifications, all give their services on a voluntary basis.

Membership of the Society is open to all who share the Society’s Objects.

The State Rooms of Buckingham Palace are open to visitors during the Annual Summer Opening. They contain paintings by Rembrandt, Rubens, Vermeer, Poussin, Canaletto and Claude; sculpture, Sèvres porcelain and some of the finest English and French furniture in the world.